Israel: Jerusalem – Via Dolorosa

Via Dolorosa or the Way of Sorrows is supposedly the 600m/2000ft long path in the heart of the Old Jerusalem where Jesus walked to crucifixion. It starts at the Lion’s Gate and ends at the Church of Holy Sepulchre. The path is marked with 9 Stations of the Cross where Jesus supposedly fell, saw mother, communicated with strangers and Roman soldiers. The stations are marked by round signs. Most of Via Dolorosa goes through Muslim Quarter (but there are many Christian churches here), eventually coming to the Chtistian Quarter and the Church of Holy Sepulchre.

0 replies

Leave a Reply

Want to join the discussion?
Feel free to contribute!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *