Egypt: Great Giza Pyramids

The Great Pyramids of Giza are the only surviving of the Old Seven Wonders of the World and is by far the main symbol of Egypt. The are three large pyramids – the Pyramid of Menkaure, the Pyramid of Khafre and the Great Pyramid of Khufu, as well as smaller subsidiary pyramids. The Pyramid of Knufu was the tallest man-made structure in the world for 3800 years. A spectacular site, albeit rather swamped with souvenir peddlers. There is also the massive statue of the Great Sphinx, one of the two remaining, guarding the entrance to the Pyramids from the east.

7 replies

Leave a Reply

Want to join the discussion?
Feel free to contribute!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *