Argentina: La Rioja

La Rioja is a provincial capital in the western Argentinian province with the same name, located 430km west from Cordoba and founded in 1591. The city has a familiar Spanish colonial layout – central square (Plaza 25 de Mayo) with most attractions just around it or within a block or two. By far the biggest attraction is a huge Cathedral and Basilica of San Nicolás de La Rioja. Beyond the city lie spectacular natural attraction of a couple national parks with rugged terrain and stunning landscape.