Austral Islands/Rimatara: Island from Air

The Austral Islands consist of 7 islands – five in the north and two in the south. Only four islands from the northern group are reachable by air. The first Island I got to was the smallest – Rimatara – and it was just a landing en route to the bigger and more interesting Rurutu. The land area of Rimatara is only is only 8.6 sq km (3.3 sq mi), and it’s nearly perfectly round. Small reef surrounds it, but other then that – there is not much to do here. On to the next….