New Zealand: Tongariro NP – Sunset & Mount Ruapehu

Tongariro National Park has three mountains – Ruapehu, Tongariro, and Ngaruhoe. Ruapehu is the largest of them – an irregular-shaped stratovolcano in the southern part of the park – snow-clad and massive. It is the largest active volcano in New Zealand and the highest point on the North Island, in fact it has not one but three tops – Tahurangi (2797 m / 9177 ft), Te Heuheu (2755 m / 9031 ft) and Paretetaitonga (2751 m / 9026 ft). The mountain looks spectacular when lit up by a fiery sunset.